The 2021 Annual AUA Awards


The AUA would not be the thriving association it is without the hard work and dedication of our members. Our members are the AUA. They are our Trustees, they run our professional networks, they advocate on our behalf within their organisations, and support their colleagues studying the AUA PgCert and are committed to the development of others.

Every year, it brings us great pride to be able to recognise the hard work of our members and networks as nominated by you, our AUA family.

This year, the wards ceremony will take place during our 2021 Annual Conference & Exhibition, at the Celebrating your successes session at 12:50 – 13:40 on Tuesday 30 March.

Network of the year

Connecting you with professionals within and beyond your own organisation and with other members who share your professional interests is what the AUA is all about. This award is all about recognising the teams of network volunteers who work together to bring you together. You might want to nominate a team behind your geographic or thematic network, or a team of advocates at your institution.

The 2021 shortlist is:

  • International Higher Education themed network – David Law, Phil Taylor & Janine Melvin
  • Managing Change themed network – Luke Phillimore, Daniel Black & Naomi Lewis
  • North Wales and North West regional network – Kate Moss

Member of the year

This award recognises the contribution of an individual member. The judges will be looking for a high level of commitment and dedication to the AUA. Perhaps an Advocate or Network Coordinator has gone the extra mile to help you, or maybe their work has raised the profile of the AUA. It could be a member who has utilised or adapted our CPD Framework, and any of its related resources, or the PgCert, to support the career development of themselves and others.

The 2021 shortlist is:

  • Dan de Sousa – Brunel University London
  • Emma Flight – University of Roehampton
  • Kate Moss – University of Central Lancashire

Lifetime achievement award

The lifetime achievement award is our chance to say a big thank you to a longstanding member whose sustained and significant contribution to the development and leadership of the AUA has helped advance professionalism and promoted excellence across the HE sector.

This year, we are delighted to present this award to Dr Bruce Nelson, University of Edinburgh.